My Best Friend Arthur

Just a quick post, on this day in memory of my best friend Arthur. 1948-2013  22nd Feb.
Arthur 3

I first became to know him online, in a chat room, in the late 90’s, then we started chatting 1 to 1, instead of in the chat room. We became friends instantly, he always found me “unique & interesting” as he’d say, hence we became great friends and I always saw him as my best friend. Whatever was on my mind or whatever strange things I wanted to discuss with him, he was always there, even though just online at first but still. He always meant a lot to me and he knew it, he’d phone me and I’d phone him, basically there was never a time we were unable to chat.

In 2000 or so he worked around Asia and ultimately settled in China, he was head of the translations department, he was a teacher in a university (in China)… He still travelled a lot though when he could, on his time off. We met in person a few times whenever he travelled to the UK for a short stay, usually in London. I remember when we first met in person, I couldn’t believe it, it was brilliant, after all the years we were speaking online or on the phone, and then we finally met in person!

He’d always be advising me on things, and giving good advice like he was always looking out for me. He always knew how much I respected him and highly regarded. I remember one time he discussed with me the idea of me going to China, he was actually going to buy me a ticket to stay with him and possibly find work there around the university in which he was a part of, no I didn’t go unfortunately… He also mentioned a lot of opportunities for my brother too, as my brother is also a translator (French, Spanish, Arabic) but he can’t really find the work in that field often.
Arthur 1

Near the time Arthur passed away, it was a while after when my partner Roger passed away and Arthur was so supportive to me, he was always there for me, at the end of the phone if no other option.

A couple of months before Arthur passed away, I didn’t hear from him for a while and I was getting very worried, I thought this is strange, where is he ? This is unlike him to not be in contact with me. I tried everything I could to try find him or find out what’s going on, is he ok, I was so worried.

I finally got through to one of his students (in China), she told me what happened, he passed away in hospital, his illness came quick, as maybe he found out too late about his cancer, and all his students were by his bedside in the hospital. I COULD NOT believe it! Beforehand, I was sending him text messages saying where are you?  And then I find this out. His student said to me, they eventually saw the texts I left on his phone. Well, I just thought, my life is over now, what with losing my partner Roger and then losing Arthur…

Arthur was an amazing interesting person and I will never ever forget him and I always think about him.

Arthur Borges 1948-2013  22nd Feb  💖💖💖💖

Click here for Arthur’s memorial page on the Translators Cafe site.

cbxti1_w8aaeawi.jpg
He is still on my Skype list, I don’t want to delete it, I can’t accept he’s gone.

Here are some pictures of Arthur.

Arthur (2)  Arthur 5  Arthur 4

Arthur 6

 

3 thoughts on “My Best Friend Arthur

  1. Loss is so hard. I am sorry you lost such a dear friend. His memory will live on in your heart though. I have a friend on skype that I havent deleted either and she passed away a few years ago. XX

  2. Thanks so much Claire, it’s good to know people understand, as they know how it feels. Same as me I won’t delete him on Skype and his number on my phone, as if he’ll somehow call again, I done that with my own partner too when he passed away. Oh I know what you mean, it feels way more difficult with BPD because we never know what our next irrational move might be in these situations etc, well you know what I mean… Thanks again x

  3. Sounds like he lived an interesting life, and he was a good man. I’m so sorry you found out about his passing that way, I couldn’t begin to imagine what that might have felt like without BPD let alone with it. Like I said on Twitter, I still have my ex’s stepdad on Facebook – I’ll never delete him either. xx

Comments are closed.